Wednesday, 4 April 2012

SusChem Espana Celebrates Young Researchers

SusChem Spain has launched its Young Chemists Awards for 2012. This is the fourth year that the Spanish National Technology Platform has organised these awards and for 2012 there are four different categories that aim to give public recognition to research by younger chemists working in Spain.

SusChem Spain launched the awards in early March with the main objective of recognising, encouraging and promoting scientific activity among young researchers in Spain. The closing date for nominations is April 9. All documentation, participation rules and conditions for the awards can be found on the SusChem Espana website.

The four award categories are called Innova, Predoc, Postdoc and Futura. The awards are promoted jointly by SusChem Spain, the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry (RSEQ), Specialized RSEQ Young Chemists Group, the Chemistry & Society Forum, National Chemists Association (ANQUE), General Counsel of Chemists and the Spanish Chemical Industry Federation (FEIQUE). The overall aim of the initiative is to foster, develop and promote chemistry both as an essential and applied science.

The 2011 Awards were an official activity of the International Year of Chemistry (IYC 2011) and were a major success not only for the excellent quality of the work submitted but for the high rate of participation with 47 candidates showing the remarkable potential of the current generation of young Spanish researchers.

Prize categories
SusChem Awards are open to Chemists under the age of 36 and winners will recieve €1 500 each. The four awards categories are:
  • INNOVA for the best work (patent, scientific publication and/or final degree or master’s Project) developed after collaboration between one or more companies and any agent of the technology system (Public Research Institutes, Universities or RTOs). The candidate work must have been developed in the last two years in one or several of the following areas related to sustainable chemistry: Industrial Biotechnology, Reaction and Process Design, New Materials & Nanotechnologies and Waste Valourisation.
  • PREDOC for the author of the best scientific paper in any area of chemistry published during 2011 where the author had not yet finished their PhD.
  • POSTDOC for the author of the best scientific paper published in any area of chemistry during 2011 where the author had already been awarded their PhD.
  • FUTURA for the best academic record in Chemistry, or related Sciences, obtained in 2011.
Nominations in all four categories will be considered by a panel comprising members from each of the promoting organisations. The Jury’s decision will be announced before 31 May 2012.

For more information on the awards contact More information Cristina González at the Technical Secretariat of SusChem-Spain.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please post your comment here. Please note that this newsblog is not moderated.