Wednesday, 5 August 2015

Nominate your European CTO 2015!

The nomination process for the European Chief Technology Officer (CTO) of the Year 2015 award is now open. And you have until 18 September to make your suggestions. Who is the most inspiring, innovative and foresighted technology leader you know in Europe?

The CTO of the Year award is given to an outstanding technology leader of an innovative European company from any industry sector: a person who is an inspiring leader, a foresighted technology manager, and who contributes to the development and sustainability of his/her industry as well as to society at large.

The award aims to promote the importance of technology and innovation for growth and competitiveness in Europe, and to find the people who can act as role models and promote the importance of technology leaders in companies of different sectors and locations.

EC recognised
The CTO of the Year event has been recognised by the European Commission. Mr. Robert-Jan Smits, General Director, DG Research and Innovation endorsed the award saying: “Europe needs to celebrate those who advance technology and innovate. Initiatives like the ‘CTO of the Year award’ are very welcome as they lead to role models and further strengthen innovation in Europe.”

The winner will be selected by a high level jury from the suggestions collected by the open call. Professor Yrjö Neuvo, former CTO of Nokia and a jury member, explains: “The European CTO of the Year Award was launched in 2014 and immediately created a lot of interest. It is given to a CTO who is both an inspiring leader and a competent technology developer. The winners are awarded in two categories in order to highlight that both SMEs and large corporations are needed to support technology-based growth in Europe. We look forward to broad participation and believe that this contest has a significant role in strengthening cross-sectorial learning and cooperation across European industries”.

In 2014, the award was given to Prof. Richard Parker of Rolls-Royce in the large companies’ category based on his personal leadership, long career in technology innovation and significant efforts in partnering with the outside world. In the SME category Dr. Gert-Jan Gruter of Avantium was the winner due to his and the company’s impressive work, focus on innovation and strong partnerships combined with the company’s future potential – and its sustainable chemistry in particular its work on advanced catalytic research.

How can you nominate your candidate in this contest organised by Spinverse and EIRMA, the European Industrial Research Management Association? Your nominee can be any European technology leader driving technology-based sustainable growth not only in his or her company, but also in Europe and globally. Find more information and submit your nomination by 18 September here.

For more information contact Terhi Marttila at Spinverse.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please post your comment here. Please note that this newsblog is not moderated.